Well it's that time of year again!  No, not Christmas - yet!  I'm talking about that time when writers the world over unite in a crazy race from 0-50,000 words in one manic month!  Why?  Well for the history on NaNo (and to join) you'll need to scoot on over to www.nanowrimo.org - but don't go yet!  Basically it's a fun way to get a first draft of that novel you've always wanted to write - effectively it's around the same length as Of Mice and Men or Carrie so, technically, it is a full length book.

If someone told me that I HAD to choose just two hobbies to keep me going on a desert island I would have no trouble because top of my list would always be reading and writing (that doesn't sound right the other way round, does it?)

Why do I love it so much?  Well for one thing I'm like a sponge - ideas flow into me constantly and a simple phrase or image will trigger an idea.  Writing is like the old fashioned blood letting which made the patients feel so much better.  Just like a sponge, my ideas will keep coming until eventually I am saturated with them and I have to write or bust ... hmmm, that doesn't conjure up very nice images, does it? Sorry! :-)

I am on a course at the moment which demands a lot of writing but even that isn't enough to satisfy me.  I have, bizarrely, agreed to write DOUBLE - count it, DOUBLE - the requisite words for charity (The Alzheimers Society).  I must be mad, especially when you consider the fact that I'm also mentoring several people as well (thanks for what you said, Mandy, that meant a lot).

So where do I get my inspiration?  Well that depends on the stimulus around me.  People I see obviously set my imagination going - guys, if any of you from my counselling course are now panicking, please don't.  I would NEVER use anything that happened, or anybody as inspiration.  Just wanted to get that out - that is the only place that is taboo.  I also get ideas from Paul (see further down on the site), pictures, and things I see while I'm out and about and even song lyrics are fair game - I take the idea, twist it and run with it - you'd be surprised what comes out.

I use several techniques which really work - if anybody wants to know email me and I'll do a blog on my techniques.

Incredibly it's been almost a year since I started this site and I've learned a lot and met some wonderful people.  So what have I learned?  I've discovered that I'm stronger than I think I am and that even when I doubt myself that doesn't mean I'm not capable - another HUGE thank you here to M and L from my course for what you said today - you know who you are!  My new year's resolution is to get some confidence in myself. 

Don't be alarmed by the long breaks between the blogs - there are sometimes crazy times - like between now and January I have no less than 7 shows and 2 parties to go to, plus my course and NaNo so I will be kind of busy but I'll endeavour to get back on a more regular basis.

So, I have two questions:

1)    If you are a writer, tell me where you get your inspiration from?

2)   Also, there is a rumour the government want to stop Halloween.  When we were        little it was just a bit of fun but have things been taken too far?

Tell me what you think either by commenting on the post or via the contact page (don't worry, you don't need to provide your telephone number).  I'd love to hear from you.  Hope to update the BREAKING NEWS section of the site soon.

Until next time!  Have fun!
Melanie

REMEMBER:  It’s the things you DON’T do in life that you regret, not the things you do, do.
12/18/2011 08:45:06 am

Ok in answer to your questions?

1) I don't usually get inspiration before I put pen to paper. It's usually when I'm sitting down with a beautiful pen in my hand and a blank piece of paper that I start to think. I write one line, and then another and then I tend to focus on the emotion of the character when I'm writing like this. For my novel however, I've realised that I have to plan a bit more, and so this type of writing has encouraged me to think about plots, characters and witty humour outside of when I'm writing, and as a result my 'writing mind' (that's what I call it :p) is expanding because I start coming up with ideas when I'm away from my computer.

2)Halloween- I'm afraid I can't help too much with this one as I live in Australia! We don't really celebrate halloween over here, however I do know that some suburbs do, but it's strictly children door knocking in the family suburbs that pop up around town. Is this how you remember it? Perhaps that's the way it should be, from watching television (I know, not a very accurate form of information!) I picture halloween as teenagers dressing up skankily, but I have to admit that given the chance to celebrate Halloween I would like to dress up so that I look good - not baring skin or anything, but I'd still like to be attractive, but perhaps that's the vain 19 year old me talking :P.

Hope this helps! I love reading your blog, I look forward to more posts! :D xx JP

Reply



Leave a Reply.